Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry (Book Review)

nbhAn unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible.
Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she’s curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn’t mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.
Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They’re the good guys. They protect people. They’re…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club’s most respected member—is in town, he’s gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it’s his shot at his dream. What he doesn’t count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.
No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Page Count:
 496

Before Nowhere But Here I have only read one book by Katie McGarry and I loved it. Now, neither NetGalley nor Goodreads could clearly identify whether this book is NA or YA and I think it is one that sort of dabbles in the grey area in between. I’ve put off this review for a while, because I am not really sure what to say though and I don’t understand why, because I had a blast reading it.

It starts off really funny, with Emily being thrown into this biker-world she clearly knows nothing about. At first, I thought she deserved some of the uncomfortableness (Is that a word? I say it’s one now), because I wasn’t sure how much I truly could relate to her or simply liked her. She seemed to have fears about basically everything and even about things I did not fully understand and then she just shut people out who were really trying. Yet, given her history and the time to get to know her made me really like her. Same with Oz. Those characters are brazen and confident and ridiculously good-looking. The whole story is not exactly an every-day-kind-of-occurrence, so it isn’t something everyone can relate to.

Despite the lack of realism, I love those kind of books. They may be full of over the top drama, but they still talk about topics that matter where it counts. Nowhere But Here was about truth, family, love and overcoming fear. There were some twists and turns I could guess and others I did not see coming in exactly that way. It was steamy and sweet and a great beginning to a new series. We already got to know the male MC for Walk the Edge, the second installment, and I can’t wait to pick that one up as well.

Fazit: 4.5/5 stars! Don’t put too much thought in it while reading and just enjoy the wild ride!

5stars

Have you read any of Katie McGarry‘s books? Do you intend to take a look at the Thunder Road series?

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick (Book Review)

tbmltTim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house.
Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To … well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.
For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.
Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted … but maybe should have.
And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

Publisher: Dial Books
Page Count: 425

For those of you who don’t know, The Boy Most Likely To is the companion novel/sequel to My Life Next Door, but told from the alternating POVs of Tim Mason and Alice Garrett. I’ve mentioned Fitzpatrick’s book a couple of times in the past and even though I guess it’s not strictly necessary, I would really recommend everyone to read My Life Next Door before reading The Boy Most Likely To. We basically pick up right where the other story left off and I guess all the relationships and what happened could be difficult to grasp without the prior knowledge of the first book.

All the while I was reading the book, I was thinking about how I could review it without spoiling absolutely everyone and it’s mighty difficult, I can tell you that! While My Life Next Door was a romance with a twist, I felt like The Boy Most Likely To was a series of twists in life with a dash of romance. In my opinion, there were so many things that were way more important and actually also more interesting than the relationship between the main characters. But where Sam and Jase’s love felt so innocent and sweet, Alice and Tim were definitely more steamy and bold, constantly flirting with each other. Since this is a YA novel though, I just want to point out that there is no explicit content and I am glad about that, because it wouldn’t have fitted the story.
I am not quite sure how I feel about the alternating POVs. My Life Next Door was told only from Sam’s perspective and I didn’t feel like it was lacking anything. Even though it was sometimes interesting to see Alice’s side of things in The Boy Most Likely To, I think her perspective was not really necessary. If you take a closer look at the book, you can also see that there is way more Tim in there than her, simply because he has more to tell. I am afraid this is as far as I can go without giving away too much of the story.

***SPOILERS***

Whether you’ve read the book yourself, or you simply don’t care about Spoilers, this is the part where I tell a little more about the story, because there is so much more to say. As mentioned in the blurb, Tim’s wild days come to haunt him – in the shape of a girl, Hester, he can’t remember sleeping with and the baby that she presents to him as his son. I absolutely adored little Cal and all his scenes with Tim together. His interpretation of Cal’s mood an thoughts was the cutest thing ever and I loved to see Tim grow like that. Even though it took him a long time to realise that he actually wants to be Cal’s dad, I was so proud of him and it broke my heart that he couldn’t actually keep him. Nonetheless, Cal and Tim, their time together and Tim getting his act together, that was my favourite part of the book! (Except for when Hester was there! I dislike that girl just as much as Grace Reed and Tim’s dad.)

As for the rest, I feel like there is still so much unresolved. Did Sam and Jase find a solution concerning their future? Will Jase get a scholarship for college? Will Sam’s mother continue to mess with their relationship? (Probably!) Is Brad still stalking Alice? Is Joel really able to live together with his girlfriend? Will Patsy ever accept that her older sister took away Tim from her? Okay, I wasn’t serious about that last one, but a lot of topics have been touched upon, but except for the Cal-storyline not many of them have been giving a proper solution.

*** SPOILERS OFF***

Fazit: 4/5 stars! I really enjoyed re-visiting the Garrets and would recommend it to anyone who liked reading My Life Next Door! I can’t give it 5 stars though, because I feel like there are still things unresolved in the end.

4stars

Did you read The Boy Most Likely To/My Life Next Door? Are you planning on reading it? What are your thoughts?